Faculty Resident Director Application Forms

Image of a Vietnamese woman on her way to the market, carrying a rattan tray of shallots and garlic bulbs, with a quote by Clifton Fadiman: When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.

All University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa faculty members in Bargaining Unit 7 are eligible to apply [from Rank 3 to Rank 5 or permanent Instructors (2)]. Faculty members who are on leave during the semester preceding the study abroad resident directorship are NOT eligible to apply. Resident Directors are appointed from UH Mānoa, as the UHM Study Abroad Center is a UH Mānoa program.

For your convenience, the Faculty Resident Directorship application has been broken down into 4 sections for Summer, Semester and Academic Year-in-Japan: Application Guidelines, Application Form (Form 1 for Summer; Form 2 for Semester), Application Information and Program Summary. Please click on the links to download the documents.

NOTE: You may need to update your version of Adobe Reader to access the fillable forms.

New as of March 2022: Please read the Council on Study Abroad’s policy on Hawaiian Place of Learning in regards to Resident Director selection and student recruitment.

deadline: Oct. 5, 2023 4PM HST

Updated Mar. 2023

Summer Programs

Application Guidelines

Eligibility, Compensation, and Responsibilities

Example Assessment Rubric

Form 1

deadline: Nov. 2, 2023 4PM HST

Updated Mar. 2023

Semester Programs

Sydney, Australia Application Guidelines Form 2
Shanghai, China
London, England
Paris, France
Florence, Italy
Machida, Japan*
Seville, Spain

*Faculty Resident Director appointment for Machida, Japan is for Fall or Spring semesters. Applicants who choose to teach both terms may do so, but must propose two courses per term. 

deadline: Not available until AY 23-24.**

Kōbe, Japan Application Guidelines  Form 2

**Faculty Resident Director appointments for Kōbe, Japan are rotated every year among UHM and other consortium universities.