Faculty-Sponsored Study Tours

Photograph of a group of University of Hawaii at Manoa Faculty-Sponsored Study Tours students in Sydney, Australia, with the Sydney Opera House in the background.

The following are some study tours sponsored by individual faculty and their respective departments. If you are interested in participating in any of the study tours listed below, please direct all study tour-related questions such as application requirements, course information, logistics, costs etc., to the respective sponsoring faculty.

Click here to read what previous study tour participants have to say about their experiences!

2019-202018-192017-182016-17
LOCATION / COURSE / FACULTY SPONSOR DATES

Summer 2020

African Ecology and Conservation Biology (PEPS 491)
Location: Hoedspruit, South Africa
Sponsoring Faculty: Mark Wright markwrig@hawaii.edu
May 30-June 25
Spanish Language (6 UHM Credits)
Location: Alicante, Spain
Sponsoring Faculty: Laura O’Rourke orourke@hawaii.edu
June 26-July 25

Spring 2020

Japanese Architecture Study Tour (ARCH 630)
Location: Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima; Japan
Sponsoring Faculty: Kevin Nute knute@hawaii.edu
March 14-22
LOCATION / COURSE / FACULTY SPONSOR DATES

Summer 2019

ITE 403C International Inquiry and Field Study
Location: Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Sponsoring Faculty: Lori Fulton fultonl@hawaii.edu
May 19-June 1
EPIC (Ehime Prefectural International Center) Internship Program
Location: Ehime, Japan
Sponsoring Faculty: Gay Satsuma gay@hawaii.edu
May 20-July 31
POP China Summer Program
Location: Yangcun, China
Sponsoring Faculty: Theresa Kreif kreif@hawaii.edu
May 25-July 11
PEPS 491: African Field Ecology and Conservation Biology (3 UHM Credits)
Location: Hoedspruit, South Africa
Sponsoring Faculty: Mark Wright markwrig@hawaii.edu
June 1-25
ITE 403C International Inquiry and Field Study
Location: Kyoto and Sendai, Japan & Seoul, South Korea
Sponsoring Faculty: Mischa Lenchanko mischa@hawaii.edu
June 9-29
Spanish Language (6 UHM Credits)
Location: Alicante, Spain
Sponsoring Faculty: Benito Quintana benitoq@hawaii.edu
June 27-July 27
Palau Field School
Location: Koror, Republic of Palau
Sponsoring Faculty: James Perez Viernes jamesv@hawaii.edu
July 4-20
Hawaiian Youths Abroad
Location: London, England & Turin and Naples, Italy
Sponsoring Faculty: Brandi “Nalani” Balutski balutski@hawaii.edu
July 17-Aug 2
THEA 779: Seminar in Theatre for Young Audiences
Location: Chengdu & Xichang, China
Sponsoring Faculty: Mark Branner branner@hawaii.edu
July 22-Aug 8

Spring 2019

Design Exchange: Spaces for Peace
Location: Nagaoka, Japan
Sponsoring Faculty: Karla Sierralta karlais@hawaii.edu
Feb 8-16
LOCATION / COURSE / FACULTY SPONSOR DATES

Summer 2018

German Language (6 UHM credits)
Location: Berlin, Germany
Sponsoring Faculty: Maryann Overstreet overst@hawaii.edu
May 26-Jun 30
KRS 208: Recreation Services in Contemporary Society
Location: Barcelona-Madrid-Bilbao, Spain
Sponsoring Faculty: Bret Freemyer freemyer@hawaii.edu
Jun 4-20
Teaching Practicum: Ubon Ratchathani University, Thailand
Location: Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Sponsoring Faculty: Elizabeth Gilliland egillila@hawaii.edu
Jun 3-Jul 21
Study Abroad in French Polynesia
Location: Tahiti & French Polynesia
Sponsoring Faculty: Keao Nesmith rnesmith@hawaii.edu
June 9-30
Spanish Language (6 UHM credits)
Location: Alicante, Spain
Sponsoring Faculty: Benito Quintana benitoq@hawaii.edu Flyer (PDF)
 Jun 30-Jul 27
Second Language Studies Internship in Vietnam (6 UHM credits)
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Sponsoring Faculty: Kenton Harsch kenton@hawaii.edu Flyer (PDF)
Jun 28-Aug 11
Hawaiian Youths Abroad
Location: London, England & Paris, France
Sponsoring Faculty: Brandi “Nalani” Balutski balutski@hawaii.edu
July 11-Aug 3

Spring 2018

ANTH 385B: Living Museums: Archaeology and National Identity in Japan
Location: Saga-Makimuku-Wakasa, Japan
Sponsoring Faculty: Barry Rolett rolett@hawaii.edu
Mar 15-24
IS 250: Personal Development for Effective Teams / PMO: Go LEAD 2018
London, Paris, Florence, Rome, Venice, Verona
Sponsoring Faculty: Leslee Matthews lesleedm@hawaii.edu
Mar 22-31

Summer 2017

LOCATION / COURSE / FACULTY SPONSOR DATES
PEPS 401: African Ecology and Conservation Biology
Greater Kruger Park, South Africa
Mark G. Wright
Jul 23-Aug 7
KRS 208: Recreation Services in Contemporary Society
Sydney, Australia
Rachel Lindsey
May 26-Jun 16
ARCH 490: Tongji Summer Competition
Shanghai, China
Lance Walters
May 22-Jun 16

Spring 2017

Jindal Global Law School
Sonipat, India
Denise Antolini

Jan 10-Aug 8
ARCH 490-004: Peace Memorial
Nagaoka, Japan
Karla Sierralta
Feb 10-18

Fall 2016

UH Mānoa Residential Life Exchange Program
Ballarat, Australia
Wil Chen
 Dec 16-24
PLAN 751: Practicum – Floods: A Resilient City
Semarang, Indonesia
Dolores Foley
 Oct 29-Nov 15

Top